Remixing Mythology: The Creation of a Hero

The Afrosoul Chronicles

Originally, Liongo was more arrogant than Kanye West... Originally, Liongo was more arrogant than Kanye West…

In the stories I read of Liongo, he was portrayed as a scoundrel; a bully arrogant and rude blessed with strength and near invulnerability, a thorn in his people’s side. In many ways, he deserved to be defeated by the copper needle. He had it coming…

That was my first impression when I started creating this project. As I was reading through the initial research sent, the story of Liongo kept speaking to me. I couldn’t avoid it. He kept creeping into my thoughts, singing the song he sang to his mother so that he could be liberated from captivity. He begged… Nay… Demanded that his story be told.

Well, I capitulated and allowed him to tell me his tale… So, he did. And, when he was finished, I could only think of one thing:

Liongo was a jerk.

Hatred is never celebrated... Hatred…

View original post 793 more words

Leave a Reply

