Columbusing Our Culture: How Bantu Knots Became Mini Buns

derby city naturals

I was having a good day, until this link scrolled down my timeline. I did not want to believe it. I have seen the white fashion world try to lay claim to baby hair, cornrows and durags I guess I should have known they would Columbus bantu knots as well.

Bantu KnotsMane Addicts blog presents a how to on achieving these twisted mini buns inspired by Marc Jacobs. I guffawed so obnoxiously as tears ran from my eyes. They have got to be kidding. Bantu knots, a style I have worn my hair in since childhood, one of the few things that managed to be passed down in a culture that was torn from us, a style that has been mocked politely as silly or rudely as crazy was now a new fashion trend attributed to Marc Jacobs? If you don’t get the f*ck out of here with that bullsh*t!

View original post 289 more words

Leave a Reply

